Waters thrilling Philip Island round sets up for Championship finale


Josh Waters will enter the final round of the 2012 Australian Superbike Championship with a 19.5-point advantage after scoring second position at Phillip Island’s penultimate weekend of action on 17-19 August.

Fresh from a standout performance at the Suzuka 8 Hours in Japan, Waters put forward a consistent effort aboard the Team Suzuki GSX-R1000, and is now in the box seat to secure his second career Australian Superbike title.

After qualifying fourth in mixed conditions, Waters finished the opening 12-lap race in second, just 1.710 seconds in arrears of title rival Wayne Maxwell. He backed that result up in race two, which was reduced to 10 laps following an opening lap incident that caused a race stoppage.  The results don't tell the tale of the close racing with Waters leading both races and only giving up the lead under battle conditions.

“The weekend was good for me, but obviously would have been better if we could have won the races,” Waters explained. “It was tough between myself and Wayne, but near the end my bike was moving around quite a bit so I decided to try and play it smart for the championship.

“I want to qualify and do well in both races at Queensland. I just need to try hard though, if I do that, then it should all be good and will hopefully go to plan for myself and Team Suzuki.” 

Superbike Round Results:
1. Wayne MAXWELL 51
2. Joshua WATERS (Team Suzuki) 40        
3. Jamie STAUFFER 36
4. Glenn ALLERTON 34
5. Robert BUGDEN (Team Volvo Group Suzuki) 30
6. Ben ATTARD (Team Suzuki) 30
7. Scott CHARLTON (Suzuki) 30
8. John PHELAN 24
9. Ben HOOKE 21
10. Beau BEATON (Suzuki) 13

Superbike Championship Standings (after 6 of 7 rounds):
1. Joshua WATERS (Team Suzuki) 247.5
2. Wayne MAXWELL 228
3. Jamie STAUFFER 200.5
4. Glenn ALLERTON 198
5. Robert BUGDEN (Team Volvo Group Suzuki) 180
6. Ben ATTARD (Team Suzuki) 178.5
7. Scott CHARLTON (Suzuki) 159
8. Ben HENRY (Suzuki) 147.5
9. Brodie WATERS (Team Suzuki) 45
10. Chris TROUNSON 26 
The Australian Superbike Championship will conclude at Queensland Raceway on 15-16 September.